Thanks for subscribing to my intermittant newsletter by filling the form below. I invite your suggestions for topics!

A confirmation email will be sent to your mailbox: please read the instruction inside it to complete the subscription.

Love & Light, Tamara

Birthstones, Zodiac & Planetary Gems

“Gemstones of the World”
Since antiquity, gems have cast their mysterious spell for the last 7,000 years. The first known gemstones were amethyst, rock crystal, amber, garnet, jade, jasper, coral, lapis lazuli, pearl, emerald, serpentine and turquoise. These stones were reserved for the wealthy and served as status symbols. Rulers authorized documents with jewel encrusted seals, which were an expression of their wealth and power.

Although sometimes today a gem set in gold or platinum is worn to demonstrate wealth, jewelry is bought increasingly for pleasure, in appreciation of its beauty. Sometimes superstition also plays a part in the purchase of a gemstone.

In ancient times, gems always had an aura of mystery, something almost spiritual. That is why they were worn as amulets and talismans. It was thought they offered protection against ghosts, and prejudiced angels and saints in the wearer’s favor. They could repulse evil, preserve health, ward off poisons and the plague; they also made princes gracious and led sailors home.

Up to the beginning of the 19th century, gemstones were sometimes used as medicine against illness. They could be used in three different ways: the mere presence of the stone was sufficient to affect a cure; the gem was placed on the afflicted part of the body; or the stone was powdered and eaten. Successes achieved by this type of therapy were not due to the gems directly, but to the effect of the suggestion on the sufferer. Even today, calcium tablets made out of powdered pearls are sold for medicinal purposes in Japan.

As a natural consequence of the supposed supernatural powers of gemstones, a link with astrology was formed and gemstones were allocated to the signs of the zodiac. This led to the birthstones; stones which accompany and protect those born under a certain sign of the zodiac. To simplify this, “stones of the month” were created. There are also stones allocated to the sun, the moon and the planets. Over the years, some of these allocations have often been changed.
Gems also have an assured place in modern religion. The breastplate of the high priests of Judea were studded with four rows of gemstones. Precious stones adorn the tiara and miter of the Pope and bishops as well as the reliquaries and icons found in Christian churches.

Following are some descriptions of the magical properties attributed to gemstones in ancient times:

DIAMOND – Planet: Sun
Zodiac Sign: Aries
Aligns All Chakras and Repels Negativity. Aligns for Attunement and Harmony with
the Godhead and Higher Self. Facilitates Clear Thinking. Master Gem.

Zodiac Sign Aries,Leo
Aligns All Chakras. Emotional Balancer. Energizes one’s Personal Aura and Neutralizes Negativity in the Environment. Meditation Tool:
Can Receive, Store, Transmit and Send Energy on All Levels of Consciousness.

Zodiac Sign: Aries,Scorpio
Navel Chakra
Aids in Mental and Physical Attunement with Inner and Outer Self. Helps in Concentration
and Vitalization of the Aura. Opens the
Heart to Warming and Happy Energies.

Zodiac Sign: Taurus
Heart, Solar Plexus Chakras
Great Stimulant for Vitality of Emotions and Physical Body. Helps In Meditation and Concentration. Brings Increases in Social Activity. Good for Circulation of Joyful Energy.

EMERALD – Planet: Venus, Zodiac Sign: Taurus
Heart, Solar Plexus Chakras
Facilitates Dreams, Meditation,and Deepest Insights. Excellent for Overall Strength, Chakra Balance And Spiritual Direction.

ROSE QUARTZ – Planet: Venus
Zodiac sign: All Signs
Heart Chakra
The “Love Stone” Evolves Compassionate Love & Forgiveness. Helps Express Personal Creativity
& Promotes Self Confidence. Excellent Aid in Meditation for Relief of Tension, Stress & Anger.

PEARL – Planet: Moon
Zodiac Sign: Gemini, Cancer
Solar Plexus Chakra
Soothes Emotions and Stabilizes Feelings.
Good for Emotional Insights, Balance and Calming Energies.

TOURMALINE- Planet: Uranus
Zodiac Sign: Gemini, Libra
Root, Heart Chakras
Excellent for Promoting Positive Thinking & Emotions. Good for Use Remembering Dreams & Promoting Restful Sleep. Pink, Red & Green Variety Centers Heart Chakra.

CITRINE – Planet: Mercury
Zodiac Sign: Gemini, Scorpio
Navel, Crown Chakras
Promotes Positive Self-Esteem. Emanates Uplifting, Positive, Hopeful, Warmhearted Energies. Aids in Health and Digestion of Experience.

TIGER’S EYE – Planet: Mars
Zodiac Sign: Leo, Capricorn
Navel, Solar Plexus Chakras
Invokes Masculine Energy, Clarifies Insight and Forethought. Grounds Will Power and Emotions.

MOONSTONE – Planet: Moon
Zodiac Sign: Cancer
Heart Chakra
Stabilizes Emotional Energies. Produces Alignment and Flexibility. Aids in Stress and Tension Relief. Enhances Intuition.

AVENTURINE – Planet: Moon
Zodiac Sign: Taurus
Heart Chakra
Aids in Positive Thinking. Good for Meditation and Center Alignment. Promotes Wellbeing

RUBY – Planet: Mars
Zodiac Sign: Leo
Heart, Root Chakras
Vitalizes Spiritual Condition. Increases Confidence, and Devotion. Enhances Courage and Passion.

SAPPHIRE – Planet: Jupiter
Zodiac Sign: Virgo
Throat, Third Eye Chakra
Aids in Spirit Guide Contacts & Meditation. Increases Creativity & Intuition. Promotes Clarity & Alignment.

LAPIS LAZULI – Planet: Jupiter
Zodiac Sign: Virgo
Third Eye, Throat Chakras
Enhances Creativity, and Intuition. Aids in Vitality and Strength. Promotes Calmness, Serenity, and Peace. Good for Meditation.

PERIDOT – Planet: Mercury
Zodiac Sign: Virgo
Solar Plexus, Heart Chakras
Balances Mental and Emotional Systems. Reduces Stress and Increases Intuition. Aids in Dream Recall

OPAL – Planet: Venus
Zodiac Sign: Libra
Heart Chakra
Aids in Conscious Contact with Higher Self. Stimulates Inner Visions. Good for Meditation.

SMOKEY QUARTZ – Planet: Mercury
Zodiac Sign: Libra
Root, Navel, Solar Plexus Chakras
Used for Relaxation & Grounding. Enhances Meditation, Dreams & Centering. Helps with
Clarity of Thought Forms.

TOPAZ – GOLD & BLUE- Planet: Mercury
Zodiac Sign: Scorpio, Sagittarius
All Chakras
Stimulates Aura Balance. Inspirational Dreams. Increases Energy & Psychic Perceptions. Excellent for Meditation and Tranquility.


Aries Diamond, Quartz Crystal,
Red Jasper, Red Carnelian
Taurus Emerald, Rose Quartz,
Orange Carnelian, Aventurine
Gemini Pearl, Tourmaline,
Cancer Moonstone, Pearl,
Leo Ruby, Cat’s Eye
Virgo Sapphire, Lapis Lazuli,
Libra Opal, Pink Tourmaline,
Smoky Quartz
Scorpio Gold Topaz, Citrine, Beryl
Red Carnelian
Sagittarius Blue Topaz, Turquoise
Capricorn Garnet, Black Onyx,
Aquarius Amethyst, Fluorite
Pisces Aquamarine, Pearl, Amethyst

SUN RULER: of Leo,
EXALTED: in Aries
GEMS: Gold, Ruby, Crystal,Diamond
KEYWORD: Self Expression

MOON RULER: of Cancer
EXALTED: in Taurus
GEMS: Silver, Pearl, Moonstone
KEYWORD: Emotion

MERCURY RULER: of Gemini, Virgo
EXALTED: in Aquarius
GEMS: Mercury, Opal, Agate
KEYWORD: Communication

VENUS RULER: of Taurus, Libra
EXALTED: in Pisces
GEMS: Copper, Emerald, Rose
Quartz, Lapis Lazuli, Aventurine
KEYWORD: Attraction

MARS RULER: of Aries, Scorpio
EXALTED: in Capricorn
GEMS: Iron, Ruby, Garnet
KEYWORD: Assertion

JUPITER RULER: of Sagittarius, Pisces
EXALTED: in Cancer
GEMS: Tin, Turquoise,
Lapis Lazuli, Amethyst
KEYWORD: Expansion

SATURN RULER: of Capricorn, Aquarius
EXALTED: in Libra
GEMS: Lead, Black Onyx,
Hematite, Blue Spinel
KEYWORD: Caution

URANUS RULER: of Aquarius
EXALTED: in Scorpio
GEMS: Steel,Gold Topaz,
KEYWORD: Innovation

EXALTED: in Cancer
GEMS: Titanium, Aquamarine
KEYWORD: Compassion

PLUTO RULER: of Scorpio
EXALTED: in Pisces
GEMS: Lava, Jet
KEYWORD: Compulsion